And so we continue

January 8, 2008

I awoke to the all-too-familiar sensation of being late. Fuck. First day? Good job boyo. Glancing at the cellphone-turned-alarm, I say that I had an hour left of sleep. Damn, getting up early sucks.

At 8:30, I woke up again, dressed, and headed down to Stumptown. Now that I have time to do this in the morning, I plan on being a bit more of a regular. I grabbed a mocha, two Baristas I know where there, so I said a quick morning, and left for biology.

Jack Vincent. Jack reminds me of a friend from MUN, it’s disturbing. But that’s a good thing. One of the first things he said; This class isn’t for Bio majors, so we’re going to talk about what you want to talk about. He seemed like a good prof so far, and I scored the book for 40 bucks from a friend, making the class even better.

After Bio, which got out early, I scampered around to kill the time, and then ran to Music History, which I have with Bryan and Kelli, and Liz, actually. We all sat in/around/near each other, with me choosing (somewhat unwisely) front-center. At exactly 10:00 our prof strolls in. This is where the story begins. Quinton Morris, a young, black, handsome-type man, confident, funny, and very articulate, began his lecture. “I’m young”, “I keep it real.” He went over the syllabus, and I was reminded how ‘band’ or music people, are demanding, on task, and unforgiving about latelyness, sloppiness, or other -ness’ . But as the class wore on, I realized Prof. Morris is probably the most hilarious man I have ever had teach me. He introduced beat (about 7 people can’t read music, so he broke it down for everyone, which was cool) with the following: “Ladies, you KNOW what I mean. You are dancin’ with a guy, and he’s so cute, but damn, he has NO rhythm. Yeah, you know. Cute, but can’t dance.” The ladies, of course, knew exactly what he meant. He then asked the class “Who hasn’t been in love?” A lone student raised his hand, and Prof. M stared. “Man, come see me after class. You’re missin’ out”.

Class continued on, we learned about some notes, and how quarter notes work. Then we listened to some choice music. Prof was describing a piece, being quiet and creepy, and then jumps towards me, and palms me, right in the chest shouting “OR SCARE YOU”. I have never been more “WTF?” in a class before. Yet, it was amazing. So, here’s a tip for my future Professors. Want to impress me? Punch me on the first day of class.

Math was a pleasant suprise. I’ve heard Dr. Alex is a good prof, so I’m excited, I’ve lucked out with math teachers so far. Also, I have the class with Faith, Charline, Alle, and apparently Emily. Who knew? Everyone is in 118 this quarter.

It looks like I’m going to be in for a good quarter.

Also, Eric is one of the most hilarious writers I’ve read in the last 36 hours :P.

Sorry this is technically on Tuesday, deal.

Leave a Reply

